Personality Disorder Support Community

Personality Disorder Support Community

NHS Mental Health Services Framework

The NHS prefer to use a multi-disciplinary approach using professionals from different departments and teams to deliver an efficient service to the patient. The National Service Framework (NSF) has provided new recommendations where specialised service is delivered in a community setting, so a patient might find that care and treatment is given within their home or in a day care setting.

Mental Health Trusts

Many parts of the UK are served by mental heath trusts that provide day clinics, rehabilitation centres, drop in centres, community services, residential care as well as inpatient care. To date there are 58 mental health trusts in England and 41 of them have achieved foundation trust services.

Community Mental Health Teams

Community Mental Health Teams (CMHTs) provide day to day support that allows people with complex mental health needs like schizophrenia or bipolar disorder to live within a community setting.

Crisis Resolution Teams

Crisis Resolution Teams (CRTs) deal with mental health patients undergoing serious crises which would require hospitalisation if not for CRT intervention. They try and treat patients in their homes or residential setting as much as possible. They also provide an after care plan so the crisis will not recur.

The CRT provide a 24 hour service and are usually referred by emergency services such as the police or ambulance services.

Assertive Outreach Teams

Assertive Outreach Teams (AOTs) help mental health patients who do not have any more contact with the mental health services. They locate former patients to see why they are no longer seeking mental health treatment and assess to see if the patients might pose a risk to either themselves or others. If there are issues to be resolved, the AOTs will work with other agencies to ensure that patients are in contact with mental health services again. Once resolved, they will hand the case over to Community Mental Health Teams. If they refuse treatment, AOTs may work with Social Services so as to section the patients under the Mental Health Act.

Early Intervention in Psychosis Teams

Early Intervention in Psychosis Teams (EIPTs) mainly deal with people who have had experiences of psychosis and are between the ages of 18-35. Psychosis can be defined as a mental state where the the person is unable to distinguish between reality and their imagination. It is usually caused by a mental health condition like schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, alcohol or drug abuse. EIPTs will provide support and counselling, as well as provide early detection and assessment.

Forensic Mental Health Services

Forensic Mental Health Services (FMHS) tend to deal with mental health patients who have either committed offences or pose a high risk of committing offences. They work with prisons or secure hospitals with patients and one of their aims is to treat any mental health issues that may contribute to a custodial sentence or patterns of criminal behaviour.

Services for Children or Young People

There is a four tier system for mental health services provided for young people or children.

The four tiers are as follows:

  1. Tier one – This tier provides services for mental health conditions that are less severe. It also provides assessments for referrals to other more specialised departments. Service at this tier is provided by health visitors, Gps, school nurses, teachers, social workers etc.

  2. Tier two – Provides assessments and care plans for children and young people with more complex mental health needs. At this level, services are provided by counsellors, psychologists and mental health nurses.

  3. Tier three –Mental Health service at this tier are for children and young people with complex and continuous mental health conditions such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder or OCD. Services are provided by a multi-agency team comprising of different professionals such as social workers, psychiatrist, occupational therapists or educational psychologists.

  4. Tier four – This tier provides specialist services for children and young people wiho exhibit the most serious problems such as violent and aggressive behaviour, life threatening disorders such as eating disorders or severe self-harm and usually involves a stay in specialist unit which range from a stay of several days to several months depending on the severity and nature of the disorder.

References: ... vices.aspx